Rank, service number and regiment
Driver 58005, 15 Reserve Battery, Royal Field Artillery
1914 Taunton, Somerset
The 1911 census shows the Lock family at Thorney, near to The Rising Sun, possibly one of the cottages in the Old Withy Factory which is called Willow Cottage today. William Lock was born at Bela Vista, New Town, now Little Orchard, which seems to have been built in 1897 according to legal documents in possession of the owners. The family may have moved to the Old Withy Factory, Thorney when one of the cottages became vacant and his father gained work there. They were certainly in Thorney by 1911.
Date of death
23 January 1915
Age of death
Circumstances of death
William enlisted in 1914 and he was attached to a training unit in the south of England. He died of pneumonia in 5th Southern General Hospital, Southsea, Hampshire while he was in training.
Portsmouth (Highland Road) Cemetery, Portsmouth, Hants.
Date of birth & full name
1897. WILLIAM LOCK
Farm labourer. “Carter” was on his death certificate.
Gilbert Lock and Edith Lock (nee Elliott) married 1893. 1911 census shows that Gilbert was a general labourer in a withy factory.
Spouse & children
William was unmarried
William did not embark into any theatre of war – possibly because of his age. As he was still in training when he died he did not have a medal entitlement.
Although William was buried in Portsmouth, he is commemorated on a Lock/Elliott family gravestone in K.E. burial ground.
William’s death certificate shows that his mother Edith was present at his death in the hospital in Southsea.
The 1911 census shows William’s siblings: John born 1895, William born 1897 – died 1915, Ellen born 1906, Percy born 1908.
The photo below shows the cottages in the Old Withy Factory, with a
family outside, sometime at the turn of the 20th century. We don’t
know who they are – could they possibly be some members of the
Lock family? Photograph courtesy of Michael and Uta Brown.